Published On: Thu, Jan 8th, 2015

John Boehner targets GOP opponents after staying as Speaker

John Boehner was his third term as Speaker of the House late Tuesday after losing 25 GOP votes. The Ohio Republican moved quickly to target Florida Reps. Daniel Webster and Richard Nugent, removing them from the influential Rules Committee.

UPDATE: Full list of those who voted against Boehner is below.

Politico summarizes the move: “The reason for demoting the two Florida Republicans was simple: Webster ran against Boehner for speaker, distributing fliers outlining his candidacy and talking about how he would better adhere to the House rules than the Ohio Republican. Nugent supported his fellow Floridian in the quixotic endeavor, which garnered the support of 12 lawmakers. Webster didn’t even give Boehner a heads-up that he was running, although leadership was aware early Tuesday morning that it could happen.”

photo donkeyhotey  donkeyhotey.wordpress.com

Boehner remains as Speaker in the House, punishes GOP opponents photo donkeyhotey donkeyhotey.wordpress.com

Boehner told reporters after House Republicans’ weekly private meeting that they are “going to have a family conversation, which we had this morning, about bringing our team together.”

“I’m not on Rules, I will tell you that,” Nugent said. “But it’s not really clear that I couldn’t get back on it. I carried a lot of water on the Rules Committee, took a lot of tough votes.”

Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.), one of the most vocal opponents of Boehner said he was unhappy that “only three of the freshmen class” voted against Boehner.

“I am already hearing from my colleagues, and myself, about retaliation against those who voted their conscience, their constituents, their principles, to change the status quo,” Huelskamp said. “My colleagues fully expect that. That’s what they expect out of this leadership team.”

Iowa GOP Rep. Steve King, who voted against Boehner, said, “If you cannot vote your conscience … then it’s clearly a dysfunctional system here.”

Below is the list of Republicans who voted against Boehner: Justin Amash (Mich.), Brian Babin (Tex.) Rep. Rod Blum (Iowa), Rep. Dave Brat (Va.), Rep. Jim Bridenstine (Okla.), Rep. Curt Clawson (Fla.), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.), Rep. Jeff Duncan (S.C.), Rep. Scott Garrett (N.J.), Rep. Chris Gibson (N.Y.), Rep. Paul Gosar (Ariz.),  Rep. Louie Gohmert (Tx), Rep. Tim Huelskamp (Kan.),  Rep. Walter Jones (N.C.), Rep. Steve King (Iw), Rep. Tom Massie (Ky.), Rep. Mark Meadows (N.C.), Rep. Rich Nugent (Fla.), Rep. Gary Palmer (Ala.), Rep. Bill Posey (Fla.), Rep. Scott Rigell (Va.), Rep. Marlin Stutzman (Ind.), Rep. Randy Weber (Tex.), Rep. Dan Webster (Fla.) and Rep. Ted Yoho (Fla.)

  1. Yoho — Yoho
On the DISPATCH: Headlines  Local  Opinion

Subscribe to Weekly Newsletter

* indicates required

About the Author

- Writer and Co-Founder of The Global Dispatch, Brandon has been covering news, offering commentary for years, beginning professionally in 2003 on Crazed Fanboy before expanding into other blogs and sites. Appearing on several radio shows, Brandon has hosted Dispatch Radio, written his first novel (The Rise of the Templar) and completed the three years Global University program in Ministerial Studies to be a pastor. To Contact Brandon email [email protected] ATTN: BRANDON

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



The Global Dispatch Facebook page- click here

Movie News Facebook page - click here

Television News Facebook page - click here

Weird News Facebook page - click here