Quantcast
Published On: Sun, Jun 3rd, 2018

Louisiana’s Gov Edwards signs 15 week abortion, adds fines and jail time for abortion doctors violating the law

Democratic Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards signed legislation banning abortions on babies 15 weeks or older (pending the ruling on the Mississippi bill.)

The lawSB 181, would sentence any abortionist who commits an abortion beyond that date to a prison sentence of up to ten years and a fine between $10,000 and $100,000, though it expressly

“We thank and commend our pro-life governor for signing this bill and once again taking a stand for life,” said Sen. John Milkovich, the bill’s sponsor and another pro-life Democrat. “This is an important step forward in Louisiana’s fight to protect the unborn.”

Seventeen states, including Louisiana, currently ban most abortions at 20 weeks, by which point medical evidence suggests babies can feel pain. Only Iowa, which recently enacted a ban on abortion once a fetal heartbeat is detected, has stronger legal protection for the preborn.

photo: 14 week fetus photo/ Your Pregnancy week by week

About the Author

- Roxanne "Butter" Bracco began with the Dispatch as Pittsburgh Correspondent, but will be providing reports and insights from Washington DC, Maryland and the surrounding region. Contact Roxie aka "Butter" at [email protected] ATTN: Roxie or Butter Bracco

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Recent Posts

Categories

Archives

At the Movies