Quantcast
Published On: Mon, May 9th, 2011

Entertainment stars comment on the death of Osama Bin Laden

Hollywood figures are flooding Twitter with reaction to the announcement Sunday that Al Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden was killed by U.S. forces. Some have joked, others expressed gratitude and many praised President Obama’s speech announcing the news. A sampling:

Actor/former California governor Arnold Schwarzenegger (@Schwarzenegger): “I’m proud of our men and women in uniform. Wherever you are, take a minute to say thank you to one of the brave heroes who serve our country.”

Late Night host Jimmy Fallon (@jimmyfallon): “Got Bin Laden AND interrupted Celebrity Apprentice? Win for Obama all around.”

Actor Michael Chiklis (@MichaelChiklis): “Bin Laden is Dead.”

Actor/comedian Will Sasso (@WillSasso): “I sure hope CNN is reporting correctly. If Obama is making this address just to crack wise on Trump’s goofy hair, I’ll be pissed.”

Late-night host Bill Maher (@billmaher): “Somali pirates, Gaddafi’s son, now bin Laden – do NOT f*** with Obama, he’s Gangsta!!”

Former MSNBC host Keith Olbermann (@KeithOlbermann): “If you think the blowback against US is going to be something, this really puts Pakistan behind the international eight ball.”

Modern Family writer-producer Danny Zuker (@DannyZuker): ” ‘Uh.. excuse me, I was promised some virgins.’ Osama bin Laden”

Screenwriter Justin Marks (@Justin_Marks): “Imagine lying down after pulling that trigger. Laundry? Check. Made bed? Check. Killed 2nd biggest scumbag of century..?”

Comedian-actor Jim Gaffigan (@JimGaffigan): “Does anyone know if Bin Ladin’s cave is rent controlled? First dubs!”

Actress Anna Kendrick (@AnnaKendrick47): “Wow. Just when you thought Obama couldn’t top correspondents’ dinner speech. The man’s on fire.”

Actor Neil Patrick Harris (@ActuallyNPH): “Everyone is sitting around my living room, mouths agape. Wow, what a night. Thank you, Mr. President, for such an eloquent speech.”

Comedian/writer Paul F. Tompkins (@PFTompkins): “I DID IT! You’re welcome, everyone.”

America’s Next Top Model host Tyra Banks (@tyrabanks): “My brother has been a US soldier for over 20 years. Today I salute him and all of our brave, selfless military women and men.”

Writer-director-producer Jon Hurwitz (@jonhurwitz): “Now that it’s confirmed America has custody of his body, I’d like to officially call shotgun on making ‘Weekend at Osama Bin Ladin’s.'”

Social Network producer Dana Brunetti (@DanaBrunetti): “Should we run around and dance in the streets and fire AK-47’s into the air??”

Filmmaker Spike Lee (@SpikeLee): “President Obama ‘May God Bless you and May God Bless The United States of America'”

Actor-comedian Patton Oswalt (@pattonoswalt): “HOLD UP THE HEAD, BARACK. (And play Europe’s ‘The Final Countdown’)”

Filmmaker Greg Mottola (@gregmottola): “‘Notice how they conveniently didn’t kill Bin Laden until AFTER he finished forging Obama’s long-form birth certificate!’ -23% of America”

Writer-producer Steve Levitan (@Steve Levitan): “Thinking of David & Lynn Angell tonight.” (The TV writer-producer and his wife died aboard American Airlines Flight 11 during the attacks.)

Filmmaker-actor Jon Favreau (@Jon_Favreau): “Wow”

Singer Ricky Martin (@ricky_martin): “Obama: ‘The US is not at war with Islam…Bin Laden was not a Muslim leader.'”

Maroon 5 frontman and The Voice celebrity coach Adam Levine (@adamlevine): “I dont know how I feel about “celebrating” death. But im just glad this happened during a good man’s presidency.”

Singer Brad Paisley (@bradpaisley): “I really love these rare moments when we feel like one united country”.

Rapper Snoop Dogg (@snoopdogg): “Bring the soldiers bac home asap! They r missed! We love how they fight for us now let’s fight for them!!”

Singer John Legend (@johnlegend): “It’s gonna be weird/hilarious talking to anybody who slept through all of this tonight.”

Singer Katy Perry (@katyperry): “But in general (& then after this I’ll go back to being an opinion less popstar) It is a GREAT day 4 America & I’m PROUD 2 b an American!”

Actor Jim Carrey (@jimcarrey): “Wow! They killed the Boogieman! I felt something was in the air tonight! Bin Laden era over! S’next? ?;^•”

Singer Michelle Branch (@michellebranch): “Kinda creeped out that Hitler was also announced dead on May 1st. Spooky.”

Musician Mark Hoppus (@markhoppus): “Love, thoughts and prayers to those we lost that day and since, and to the men and women still in harm’s way. The good guys won one tonight”.

Singer Rihanna (@rihanna): “Rumpupupum Rumpupupum Rumpupupuuum #ManDown”


Jim Corr has seemingly expressed doubts that Osama Bin Laden was killed this week by US special forces.

The guitarist from family folk band The Corrs has posted an image on his website mocking the official account of the al-Qaeda founder’s death.

The spoof movie poster for Osama Zombie 6, which has featured on several websites since the weekend, features a zombie Bin Laden and US president Barack Obama in front of a graph showing falling poll ratings.

It boasts the text: “When ‘Yes I Can’ Stopped Working… They Dug Him Up And Killed Him Again!”

A statement on Corr’s website reads: “My name is Jim Corr. I have been studying what is referred to as the New World Order the past couple of years. I invite you to come with me on a journey, so we can attempt to get closer to what is really going on in the world today behind the movie that’s presented to us via the television set.

“Fake terror and phony environmentalism are being used to trick you into giving up more and more of your civil liberties, as we are being incrementally herded into a One World Government Dictatorship.

“The light at the end of the tunnel is that millions upon millions of people are waking up to this unfolding Orwellian nightmarish agenda which will be averted once we collectively waken up!”


Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson appeared to suggest that he knew about Osama Bin Laden’s death before it became public knowledge.

The actor tweeted that he knew something “that will shock the world” about an hour before President Obama’s big announcement that Bin Laden had been killed during an assault on his drone-proof compound in Pakistan.

According to multiple reports, the first tweet to specifically mention Bin Laden’s death was sent out by Keith Urban, the chief of staff at former US Defense secretary Donald Rumsfeld’s office.

The message read: “So I’m told by a reputable person they have killed Osama Bin Laden. Hot damn.” The post was followed up two minutes later by a tweet that read: “Don’t know if it’s true, but let’s pray it is.”


Barbara Walters on “The View”: “I would hate now to be a Republican candidate thinking of running.”

Joy Behar chimed in as well. “Skip the next election”

“So when does Seal Unit 6, or whatever it’s called, drop in on George Bush? Bush was responsible for a lot more death, innocent death, than bin Laden.” – Mike Malloy

On the DISPATCH: Headlines  Local  Opinion

Subscribe to Weekly Newsletter

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd ) [ALL INFO CONFIDENTIAL]

About the Author

- Stories transferred over from The Desk of Brian where the original author was not determined and the content is still of interest of Dispatch readers.

Tags

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Sign up for our Weekly Newsletter



Categories

Archives

At the Movies



Pin It